Women Legislators of the
Maryland General Assembly, Inc.

2017 General Assembly

188 Members

67 Members (36%)
Women's Caucus
60 Women (32%)
7 Men

47 Senators

Women's Caucus
11 Women (23%)
2 Men

141 Delegates

Women's Caucus
49 Women (35%)
5 Men
54 (38%)

Women Legislators of Maryland

54 Democrats (81%)
13 Republicans (19%)


Women Legislators of Maryland was the first women's caucus in the Nation! We were established in 1972.

2015 marked the first time in our history for male members.



2017-2018 Executive Board

Delegate Ariana Kelly

President Elect
Delegate Sheree Sample-Hughes

First Vice President
Delegate Trent Kittleman

Second Vice President
Delegate Carol Krimm

Delegate Anne Healey

Delegate Deb Rey

At-Large Executive Board
Senator Addie Eckardt
Delegate Jheanelle Wilkins

Immediate Past President
Delegate Aruna Miller


Current Members

Maryland Manual Online:
A Guide to Maryland and Its Government

Appropriations Committee (APP)

Budget and Taxation Committee (B&T)

Economic Matters Committee (ECM)

Education, Health and Environmental Affairs Committee (EHEA)

Environment and Transportation Committee (ENV & TRANS)

Finance Committee (FIN)

Health and Government Operations Committee (HGO)

Judiciary Committee (JUD)

Judicial Proceedings Committee (JPR)

Ways and Means Committee (W&M)


Sen. Gail H. Bates, District 9, EHEA
Sen. Joanne C. Benson, District 24, FIN
Sen. Joan Carter Conway, District 43, EHEA
Sen. Adelaide C. Eckardt, District 37, B & T
Sen. Cheryl C. Kagan, District 17, EHEA
Sen. Delores G. Kelley, District 10, JPR
Sen. Nancy J. King, District 39, B & T
Sen. Katherine Klausmeier, District 8, FIN
Sen. Susan C. Lee, District 16, JPR
Sen. Shirley Nathan-Pulliam, District 44, EHEA
Sen. Barbara Robinson, District 40, EHEA
Sen. Will Smith, Jr., District 20, JPR
Sen. Ron Young, District 3, EHEA


Del. Kathy Afzali, District 4, W & M
Del. Angela Angel, District 25, HGO
Del. Vanessa Atterbeary, District 13, JUD
Del. Susan L. M. Aumann, District 42, ECM
Del. Erek L. Barron, District 24, HGO
Del. Pamela Beidle, District 32, ENV & TRANS
Del. Mary Beth Carozza, District 38, APP
Del. Bonnie Cullison, District 19, HGO
Del. Kathleen Dumais, District 15, JUD
Del. Diana M. Fennel, District 47A, ECM
Del. Barbara A. Frush, District 21, ENV & TRANS
Del. Tawanna P. Gaines, District 22, APP
Del. Angela Gibson, District 41, JUD
Del. Cheryl D. Glenn, District 45, ECM
Del. Ana Sol Gutierrez, District 18, APP
Del. Anne Healey, District 22, ENV & TRANS
Del. Shelly Hettleman, District 11, APP
Del. Terri L. Hill, District 12, HGO
Del. Sheila E. Hixson, District 20, W & M
Del. Carolyn J.B. Howard, District 24, W & M
Del. Sally Y. Jameson, District 28, ECM
Del. Adrienne A. Jones, District 10, APP
Del. Anne R. Kaiser, District 14, W & M
Del. Ariana Kelly, District 16, HGO
Del. Trent Kittleman, District 9A, JUD
Del. Susan Krebs, District 5, HGO
Del. Carol L. Krimm, District 3A, APP
Del. Robbyn Lewis, District 46, ENV & TRANS
Del. Brooke Elizabeth Lierman, District 46, APP
Del. Mary Ann Lisanti, District 34, ECM
Del. Susan K. McComas, District 34, JUD
Del. Maggie McIntosh, District 43, APP
Del. Aruna Miller, District 15, APP
Del. Dan Morhaim, District 11, JUD
Del. Marice I. Morales, District 19, HGO
Del. Edith J. Patterson, District 28, W & M
Del. Joseline Peña-Melnyk, District 21, HGO
Del. Shane Pendergrass, District 13, HGO
Del. Andrew Platt, District 17, HGO
Del. Susie Proctor, District 27A, JUD
Del. Pam Queen, District 14, JUD
Del. Teresa Reilly, District 35, W & M
Del. Deborah C. Rey, District 29, JUD
Del. April Rose, District 5, W & M
Del. Sheree Sample-Hughes, District 37, HGO
Del. Meagan C. Simonaire, District 31, W & M
Del. Kathy Szeliga, District 7, HGO
Del. Jimmy Tarlau, District 47A, W & M
Del. Kris Valderrama, District 26, ECM
Del. Geraldine Valentino-Smith, District 23A, APP
Del. Jeff Waldstreicher, District 18, ECM
Del. Mary Washington, District 43, W & M
Del. Jheanelle K. Wilkins, District 20, W & M
Del. Karen Lewis Young, District 3A, HGO